The following are draft minutes from this year’s AGM. Hopefully they will be approved next November (The draft 2015 minutes were approved at the recent AGM.)

Minutes of the Peterborough Cycling Club

Annual General Meeting

Held on 21st November 2016 

Committee Members Present:

John McCarthy, Tim Cockerell, Richard Roach, Chris Monk, Dave Stanbridge , Mark Greenway, Nick Hitchens, Simon Hodson, Manjit Manak, Ian Wild, Kevin Hobbs.

Members Present:

Fourteen other members were present.


Andrew Alexander, Annette Ippolito, Neil Barker, Dave Yarham, Rod Auckland, Liz Robertson, Brian Charmley.

Club Photograph:

Before the Meeting began, all members present assembled for a Club photograph.

Welcome Address:

The President welcomed all present, after a “good year”.

2015 AGM Minutes:

The minutes of the 2015 AGM were accepted as an accurate record.

Chairman’s Report:

John McCarthy welcomed all attending, and read his report.

Committee Members’ Reports:

  • Secretary/Treasurer
  • Time Trial Secretary.
  • Press Secretary.
  • Club Captain.
  • Road Race Secretary/Road Team.
  • Quartermaster/Membership Secretary.

(Secretary’s note: Hard copies of these reports are held on file, and they are also

published on the web site forum.)

Events 2016/17:

Trophy Presentations would once again be at the Fleet, and would be held on Friday evening 17th February with a substantial buffet supper.

The pattern of events in 2017 would be similar to those of 2016; the Road Races date would be 2nd July; the complete list would be published on the web when ready.

Club Subscriptions:

The Committee recommended that there should be no change to standard subscriptions for 2017; proposed Kevin Hobbs, seconded Julian Fryer; carried.

Proposed Secretary, seconded Simon Hodson, that a new membership category called Country Member should be established for those living distant from Peterborough, subscription half full member. Carried and Constitution amendment approved.

Web Site:

The new web site was working well enough, but members were encouraged to make more use of it.

Sunday Rides:

The 0900 Social Ride on Sundays was poorly supported. The faster ride leaving at the same time was well supported, but the Social Ride needed to be available for potential members to be introduced to the Club.

Election of Management Committee and Officers for 2015/16:

All current Officials and Committee members were deemed to have resigned, so the whole Committee was up for election/re-election. Richard Roach was confirmed as President.

The following Committee members were duly elected, having been proposed, seconded and voted into Office by the members attending:

2016/17 PCC Management Committee (effective from 16 Nov 16):

Chairman – John McCarthy

Vice Chairman – Simon Hodson
Club Captain – Chris Monk
Vice- Captain – Alex Craig
Secretary and Treasurer – Tim Cockerell

Membership Secretary – Mark Greenway
Road Race Secretary – Ian Wild
Time Trial Secretary – Dave Yarham
Press Secretary – Dave Stanbridge
Trophy Secretary – Ian Wild

Quartermaster – vacant.

Committee Members:

Nick Hitchens, Manjit Manak, Kevin Hobbs, Lydia Horrex, James Gelsthorpe.

Victoria Valentine remained as Welfare Officer.

Any Other Business:

  • Simon Hodson hoped the Club’s social activities could be expanded, and was considering a trip to France in 2017. Paul Pardoe would be looking at organising a Club family BBQ after the NRCA races on 21 May 17.
  • Ian Wild thought he’d be able to run a few “special” Sunday rides – eg recce of the Cambridge route.
  • The system for awarding the Kelly Cup would be changed – to be dealt with in Committee.
  • Mark Greenway wondered if there was a way of getting bike insurance more cheaply for Club members.
  • Paul Pardoe would look at getting a Club Instagram facility – would need to educate some of the older members!

The meeting was closed at 2038.